數位資產監管需要更強有力地反映市場結構的 TradFi 標準,以捕捉機構 M

觀點6 年前發佈 喬茲
166 0

數位資產監管需要更強有力地反映市場結構的 TradFi 標準,以捕捉機構 M

傳統金融機構已經是數位資產生態系統的主要貢獻者,為經濟注入流動性,並為客戶提供持有、交易、在某些情況下質押數位資產的能力。美國證券交易委員會批准現貨比特幣ETF只會進一步加強此類機構的參與。

即將湧入數位資產的價值進一步呼籲監管機構就數位資產參與者如何實現監管合規提供明確的指導。

全球許多司法管轄區正在對數位資產採取監管方法,該方法反映了數十年來傳統金融 (TradFi) 的標準。落實這些經過充分測試的基本保護措施是朝著創造更安全的數位資產市場邁出的一大步。然而,這些監管框架可以受益於對託管和市場結構設定更明確的預期; TradFi 在這方面提供了非常有用的原則,可以應用於數位資產產業。

數位資產產業應該向 TradFi 學習什麼

在 TradFi 中,交易價值鏈被有意地分配,使得交易所、經紀商、清算所和託管人都是獨立的各方。這種市場結構自動創建了一個制衡系統,並消除了任何單點故障。數位資產產業有一個有趣的細微差別,因為數位資產交易所通常是垂直整合的,並且執行大部分(如果不是全部)上述功能,特別是提供交易交易所和交易資產託管。

監管機構正在考慮是否為數位資產產業複製 TradFi 市場結構的各個方面,但問題是他們需要走多遠?特別是,是否應該要求數位資產交易所使用與交易所無關的第三方獨立託管機構?

將託管人與交易所分開將有助於防止詐欺和濫用客戶資金的情況,儘管到目前為止,似乎沒有監管機構強制要求數位資產交易所使用第三方獨立託管人。在新加坡,擬議的規則似乎允許交易所選擇透過獨立運營的單位自行提供託管,或使用第三方獨立託管人。然而,在香港,持牌數位資產交易所(「虛擬資產交易平台」)不允許使用獨立託管人,而是需要透過交易所的子公司為其客戶提供託管服務。

無論交易所採用何種託管安排,重要的是向客戶明確揭露這些細微差別的安排,以便他們做出明智的決定。客戶應該了解他們的資產在他們使用的交易所和其他交易平台上是如何被持有和保護的。較規避風險的客戶可能會傾向於在全部或至少部分使用獨立託管人來持有其資產的交易所和平台上進行交易。

「託管」是對數位資產錢包的絕對、單方面控制

「託管」應該指的是對錢包的絕對、單方面控制,這是監管機構應考慮的一個重要細微差別。馬來西亞證券委員會實際上在其報告中對此提供了非常有用的指導 數位資產指南,如果一個人不能完全控制數位資產,則不被視為託管人,「完全控制」的定義是單方面從錢包轉移數位資產的能力。

然而,在其他監管數位資產的國家,對於哪些錢包被視為託管並應受到監管的規則並不總是那麼明確。不持有多重簽名或 MPC 錢包的密鑰或份額,或者其數量不足以單方面從錢包中提取數位資產的錢包服務提供者實際上只是提供不應屬於監管範圍的非託管錢包。

DeFi 阿爾法優質內容

免費開始

最終客戶應該敏銳地意識到他們的數位資產是保存在託管錢包還是非託管錢包中。如果客戶註冊非託管錢包,他們必須認識到自己對其數位資產的安全負責。或者,他們可以考慮使用由值得信賴、信譽良好且受監管的錢包服務提供者提供的託管錢包。

下一步是什麼?

數位資產產業與 TradFi 有許多相似之處,因此可以應用許多經過時間考驗的 TradFi 原則來規範數位資產空間,但仍考慮到數位資產所呈現的獨特細微差別,這可能需要更多的微調法規。

積極主動地與監管機構密切合作,分享知識、行業實踐和營運挑戰,符合數位資產產業的最佳利益。監管機構對數位資產的潛在細微差別了解得越多,我們就越有可能為數位資產產業制定規則,為客戶提供強有力的保護,同時風險相稱且足夠實用,可供數位資產公司遵守。

HB Lim 是亞太區董事總經理 比特Go,數位資產錢包和託管提供者。

本文源自網路: 數位資產監管需要更強有力地反映市場結構的 TradFi 標準,以獲取機構市場份額

相關:現貨比特幣 ETF 將推動美國機構採用數位資產

美國的交易所交易基金(ETF)已經取得了巨大的成長,現在一些最大的傳統金融機構提供越來越多的可靠申請來提供現貨比特幣 ETF。考慮到這兩個因素,再加上Grayscale 最近在法庭上獲勝以及富蘭克林鄧普頓(Franklin Templeton) 的現貨比特幣ETF 申請,似乎現貨比特幣ETF 何時可供投資者使用的問題,而不是是否會發生的問題。當它們可用時,它們將有助於簡化和促進美國主流機構對數位資產的採用。美國和世界各地的 ETF 成長 ETF 對於投資者來說是一個合理的選擇:具有成本效益且易於獲得。快速概覽一下,美國 ETF 管理下的淨資產總額 (AUM) 有…

© 版權聲明

相關文章

暫無評論

您必須先登入才能發表評論!
立即登入
暫無評論...

Digital Asset Regulation Needs to More Strongly Reflect TradFi Standards for Market Structure to Capture Institutional M

Opinion5mos agoreleased joez
141 0

Digital Asset Regulation Needs to More Strongly Reflect TradFi Standards for Market Structure to Capture Institutional M

Traditional financial institutions are already major contributors to the digital asset ecosystem, injecting liquidity into the economy and offering customers the ability to hold, trade, and in some cases, stake digital assets. The US Securities and Exchange Commission’s approval of a spot Bitcoin ETF will only further bolster the participation of such institutions.

The coming influx of value into digital assets is a further clarion call to regulators to provide clear directions as to how digital asset players can achieve regulatory compliance.

Many jurisdictions around the globe are adopting a regulatory approach to digital assets that mirrors the standards that have been in place for traditional finance (TradFi) for decades. Putting these basic, well-tested protections in place is a big step toward creating safer digital asset markets. However, these regulatory frameworks could benefit from setting clearer expectations regarding custody and market structure; TradFi offers very useful principles in this regard that can be applied to the digital asset industry.

What the digital asset industry should learn from TradFi

In TradFi, the trading value chain has been intentionally parceled out such that the exchange, brokers, clearing house and custodians are all separate parties. This market structure automatically creates a system of checks and balances and removes any single point of failure. The digital asset industry has an interesting nuance in that digital asset exchanges are often vertically integrated and perform most, if not all of the above functions, particularly providing both an exchange for trading and also custody for the traded assets.

Regulators are contemplating whether to replicate aspects of the TradFi market structure for the digital asset industry, but the question is how far do they need to go? In particular, should they require digital asset exchanges to use third-party independent custodians unrelated to the exchange?

Having the custodian separate from the exchange would help prevent cases of fraud and misuse of customer funds, though thus far, no regulator appears to have mandated that digital asset exchanges use third-party independent custodians. In Singapore, proposed rules appear to allow exchanges the option of either providing custody themselves through an operationally independent unit, or using a third-party independent custodian. In Hong Kong, however, licensed digital asset exchanges (“virtual asset trading platforms”) are not allowed to use independent custodians and are instead required to provide their clients custody through a subsidiary company of the exchange.

Whatever the custody arrangement used by exchanges, what is critical is that these nuanced arrangements are clearly disclosed to customers to allow them to make informed decisions. Customers should know how their assets are being held and safeguarded at the exchanges and other trading platforms they use. More risk-averse customers may gravitate towards trading on exchanges and platforms that use independent custodians wholly or at least in part to hold their assets.

“Custody” as absolute, unilateral control of a digital asset wallet

That “custody” should refer to such absolute, unilateral control of a wallet is an important nuance that regulations should take into account. The Malaysian Securities Commission has actually given very useful guidance on this in its Guidelines on Digital Assets, saying that a person is not considered a custodian if they do not have full control over the digital assets, with “full control” defined as the ability to unilaterally transfer them from a wallet.

However, in other countries that regulate digital assets, the rules are not always so clear as to which wallets are considered custodial and should be regulated. Wallet service providers which hold none of the keys or shares of a multisig or MPC wallet, or an insufficient number of them to unilaterally withdraw digital assets from a wallet, are really just providing non-custodial wallets which should not fall within the regulatory perimeter.

DeFi AlphaPremium Content

Start for free

End customers should be keenly aware of whether their digital assets are being held in custodial or non-custodial wallets. Should a customer sign up for a non-custodial wallet, they must recognize that they themselves are responsible for the safety and security of their digital assets. Alternatively, they can consider using custodial wallets provided by trusted, reputable and regulated wallet service providers.

What’s next?

The digital assets industry has many similarities to TradFi, so it is possible to apply many of the same time-tested TradFi principles to regulate the digital assets space, yet still factoring in the unique nuances that digital assets present which may require more fine-tuned regulations.

It is in the best interests of the digital asset industry to work proactively and closely with regulators to share knowledge, industry practices and operational challenges. The more regulators understand the underlying nuances of digital assets, the more likely it is that we will arrive at rules for the digital asset industry that offer strong protections to customers yet are risk-proportionate and practicable enough for digital asset firms to comply with.

HB Lim is Managing Director of APAC for BitGo, a digital asset wallet and custody provider.

This article is sourced from the internet: Digital Asset Regulation Needs to More Strongly Reflect TradFi Standards for Market Structure to Capture Institutional Market Share

Related: Spot Bitcoin ETFs Will Move the Needle for Institutional Adoption of Digital Assets in the U.S.

Exchange-traded funds (ETFs) in the United States have already witnessed tremendous growth, and now there’s an increasing number of solid applications to offer spot Bitcoin ETFs by some of the largest traditional financial institutions. By taking those two factors into account, along with Grayscale’s recent court battle win and Franklin Templeton’s spot Bitcoin ETF application, it seems that it’s a matter of when spot Bitcoin ETFs will be available to investors rather than if this will happen. When they’re available, they will help to streamline and facilitate mainstream institutional adoption of digital assets in the United States. ETF Growth in the United States and World ETFs can be a logical choice for investors: cost-efficient and easily accessible. As a quick overview, total U.S. ETF net assets under management (AUM) have…

© Copyright Notice

Related articles

No comments

You must be logged in to leave a comment!
Login immediately
No comments...