美国国税局正在打击加密货币吗?

观点5 个月前发布 乔兹
59 0

美国国税局正在打击加密货币吗?

2023 年 5 月,拜登总统发布了一条推文,针对有利于“的税收政策”富有的加密货币投资者'。

尽管加密生态系统中的许多人批评拜登总统的声明具有误导性,但该推文表明了一个更广泛的现象:联邦政府打击加密逃税行为。

加密货币不再是立法者和税务机关关注的利基生态系统。加密货币比以往任何时候都更加主流——这意味着美国国税局正在更加关注加密货币交易。

在本文中,我们将探讨加密货币税务欺诈日益成为监管机构关注焦点的不同方式,以及投资者如何在报税和避免未来与国税局发生麻烦时保持积极主动。

“灰色地带”税收政策的终结

加密货币交易通常位于税法的“灰色区域”。由于美国国税局 (IRS) 尚未发布有关 NFT 和 DeFi 交易的完整指南,许多投资者多年来一直采取积极的纳税申报方法,以最大程度地减少纳税义务。

最近,美国国税局已采取措施为这些交易提供更明确的指导方针。 2023 年 3 月,美国国税局 (IRS) 首次发布了 NFT 指南,详细说明了 NFT 被视为收藏品并相应征税的情况。

未来几个月可能会有更多加密货币指导。 根据朱莉·福斯特的说法美国国税局数字资产主管表示,该机构将在未来 12 个月内实施一项处理加密货币的新运营计划。

此外,联邦政府正在寻求通过立法来堵住加密货币投资者的“漏洞”。这 拜登政府最新预算案 将把洗售规则扩大到加密货币——限制加密货币投资者索赔资本损失的能力。

美国国税局如何打击伪匿名交易

除了发布更多有关加密货币的指南外,美国国税局还一直在打击交易所和区块链上发生的加密货币税务欺诈行为。

早在 2016 年,美国国税局 (IRS) 就向 Coinbase 发出了无名氏传票,要求该交易所将客户记录移交给联邦政府。

对中心化交易所的税收监管只会在未来几年收紧。 2021 年“重建更好法案”要求加密货币交易所发布强制性 1099 表格,向客户和 IRS 报告资本收益和损失。

当然,美国国税局并没有将其重点局限于中心化交易所。近年来,税务机关对链上骗税行为更加重视。

目前,美国国税局与 Chainaanalysis 等承包商合作,分析区块链,并将“匿名”钱包与已知投资者进行匹配。它是 被估计 这些合作伙伴关系已帮助美国国税局扣押了超过 $100 亿美元的比特币。

此外,联邦政府正在采取积极措施阻止投资者使用可能用于逃税的隐私币。 2022 年,财政部批准了注重隐私的龙卷风币——美国人使用该币为非法。

增加美国国税局的资金

未来几年,美国国税局可能只会更加关注加密货币行业。虽然国税局在过去几年被称为“资金不足”的机构,但随着该机构最近从拜登政府获得了有意义的资金,这种情况正在发生变化。 2022 年降低通货膨胀法案 给了$800亿 为该组织提供未来十年的新资金。

虽然尚不清楚这笔资金中有多少将专门用于打击加密货币税务欺诈,但美国国税局委员已将加密货币列为美国年度税收缺口的主要贡献者。因此,可以合理地假设,美国国税局增加的资金将导致对加密货币投资者的审查更加严格。

我应该采取哪些步骤才能准确申报我的税款?

随着人们对加密货币生态系统的关注日益增加,投资者应主动报告其资本收益和收入。您可以采取以下几个步骤来确保遵守税法。

  1. 跟踪您的交易: 为了准确报告您的资本收益和损失,保留所有加密货币交易的详细记录非常重要。这包括您在所有钱包和交易所之间的所有交易和转账的完整历史记录,包括交易发生的日期以及您的加密货币在接收和处置时的公平市场价值。
  2. 找到合适的资源: 为了简化报告您的流程 加密货币税,找到合适的工具很重要。加密税务软件可以自动同步到您的钱包和交易所——帮助您跟踪您的收益、损失和收入!如果您对自己报税感到不舒服,您可以联系具有加密货币专业知识的税务专业人士。
  3. 提交修改后的纳税申报表: 如果您在前几年没有报告您的加密货币税,您应该提交修改后的纳税申报表。自提交之日起,您有三年时间修改您的纳税申报表,并确保准确报告您之前的加密货币交易。请记住,美国国税局通常对真诚努力准确申报税款的投资者更为宽松。

请记住,逃税被视为重罪。美国逃税最高处罚为$250,000,最高可判处五年监禁。此外,如果发生彻底的税务欺诈,国税局对您进行审计的时间没有时间限制。

综上所述

加密货币已进入主流——这意味着美国国税局比以往任何时候都更加关注该生态系统。为了避免民事和刑事处罚,投资者应勤勉地向美国国税局报告其收益、损失和收入。

文章来源于互联网:美国国税局正在打击加密货币吗?

© 版权声明

相关文章

暂无评论

您必须先登录才能发表评论!
立即登录
暂无评论...

Is the IRS Cracking Down on Crypto?

Opinion7mos agoreleased joez
87 0

Is the IRS Cracking Down on Crypto?

In May 2023, President Biden posted a tweet taking aim at tax policies that benefit ‘wealthy crypto investors’.

While many in the crypto ecosystem criticized President Biden’s statement for being misleading, the tweet is indicative of a wider phenomenon: the federal government cracking down on crypto tax evasion.

Cryptocurrency is no longer a niche ecosystem under the radar of legislators and tax authorities. Crypto is more mainstream than ever — which means the IRS is paying closer attention to crypto transactions.

In this article, we’ll explore the different ways in which crypto tax fraud is increasingly becoming a focus for regulators — and how investors can stay proactive when it comes to reporting taxes and avoiding future trouble with the IRS.

The end of ‘gray area’ tax policies

Cryptocurrency transactions often reside in a ‘gray area’ of the tax code. Because the IRS has not released complete guidance on NFT and DeFi transactions, many investors have for years taken aggressive approaches to tax reporting to minimize their tax liability.

Recently, the IRS has taken steps towards providing more clear guidelines for these transactions. In March 2023, the IRS issued guidance for NFTs for the first time — detailing the circumstances when NFTs are considered collectibles and taxed accordingly.

It’s likely that more cryptocurrency guidance is due in the months ahead. According to Julie Foerster, the IRS’s digital assets director, the agency is set to implement a new operating plan for dealing with cryptocurrencies in the next 12 months.

In addition, the federal government is looking to close ‘loopholes’ that have been available for cryptocurrency investors through legislation. The Biden Administration’s latest budget package would expand the wash sale rule to cryptocurrencies — restricting crypto investors’ ability to claim capital losses.

How the IRS is cracking down on pseudo-anonymous transactions

In addition to publishing more guidance for cryptocurrency, the IRS has been cracking down on crypto tax fraud taking place on exchanges and on the blockchain.

As early as 2016, the IRS issued Coinbase a John Doe Summons — requiring the exchange to turn over customer records to the federal government.

Tax regulations on centralized exchanges are only set to tighten in the years to come. The 2021 Build Back Better Act requires cryptocurrency exchanges to issue mandatory 1099 forms reporting capital gains and losses to both customers and the IRS.

Of course, the IRS is not limiting its focus to centralized exchanges. In recent years, the tax agency has paid closer attention to on-chain tax fraud.

Currently, the IRS works with contractors like Chainalysis to analyze the blockchain and match ‘anonymous’ wallets to known investors. It’s been estimated that these partnerships have helped the IRS seize more than $10 billion in Bitcoin.

In addition, the federal government is taking active steps to deter investors from using privacy coins that could potentially be used for tax evasion. In 2022, the Treasury Department sanctioned the privacy-focused Tornado Coin — making it illegal for Americans to use.

An increase in funding for the IRS

It’s likely that the IRS will only be focusing more attention on the cryptocurrency industry in the years to come. While the IRS has been called an ‘underfunded’ institution in years past, this is changing as the agency has recently picked up meaningful funding from the Biden Administration. The Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 gave $80 billion in new funding to the organization over the next ten years.

While it’s unknown how much of this funding will go towards fighting crypto tax fraud specifically, IRS commissioners have singled out cryptocurrency as a major contributor to America’s annual tax gap. Because of this, it’s reasonable to assume that increased funding for the IRS will lead to increased scrutiny on cryptocurrency investors.

What steps should I take to accurately report my taxes?

With the increased attention on the cryptocurrency ecosystem, investors should be proactive in reporting their capital gains and income. Here are a few steps you can take to make sure that you’re staying compliant with tax law.

  1. Keep track of your transactions: To accurately report your capital gains and losses, it’s important to keep a detailed record of all of your cryptocurrency transactions. This includes a complete history of all your trades and transfers across all of your wallets and exchanges — including the date the transaction took place and the fair market value of your crypto at receipt and disposal.
  2. Find the right resources: To simplify the process of reporting your cryptocurrency taxes, it’s important to find the right tools. Crypto tax software can automatically sync to your wallets and exchanges — helping you keep track of your gains, losses, and income! If you feel uncomfortable reporting your taxes yourself, you can reach out to a tax professional with expertise in cryptocurrency.
  3. Submit an amended tax return: If you haven’t reported your cryptocurrency taxes in prior years, you should file an amended tax return. You have three years from the date of filing to amend your tax return and ensure that your previous crypto transactions are reported accurately. Remember, the IRS is typically more lenient to investors who make a good faith effort to accurately report their taxes.

Remember, tax evasion is considered a felony. The maximum penalty for tax evasion in the United States is $250,000 and up to five years in prison. In addition, there’s no time limit to how far back the IRS can audit you in cases of outright tax fraud.

In conclusion

Cryptocurrency has entered the mainstream — which means the IRS is paying closer attention to the ecosystem than ever before. To avoid civil and criminal penalties, investors should be diligent in reporting their gains, losses, and income to the IRS.

文章来源于互联网:Is the IRS Cracking Down on Crypto?

© Copyright Notice

Related articles

No comments

You must be logged in to leave a comment!
Login immediately
No comments...